The Winds of Winter George RR Martin

23 years ago, George R.R. Martin wrote the first book in his iconic ‘A Song of Ice and Fire Series’. This book was titled ‘A Game of Thrones’, which later developed into the popular TV Show that we know it today. However, Martin has published only six out of the eight books in the series so far. His next book is The Winds of Winter.

The Winds of Winter Plot
Image: Insider

Fans of the series are eagerly waiting for The Winds of Winter to release. It has been eight years since his last book ‘A Dance with Dragons’ came out. Let us take a closer look at everything that we know about The Winds of Winter so far.

Reason why The Winds of Winter has Taken So Long 

A Dance with dragons, sixth out of Martin’s eight books came out in 2011. This was also the year that the first season of Game of Thrones premiered on HBO. Martin is a key member of the show’s production – as the books are based on his writing, and the script has also been written by him.

The Winds of Winter A Song of Ice and Fire
Image: Amazon

While there are substantial differences between the show and the book, these are also the reasons why The Winds of Winter has been delayed. It appears that Martin is re-writing a major portion of the book to ensure that the readers and the viewers get a different experience and the show doesn’t spoil the ending for the readers.

The Winds of Winter: Release Date 

The Winds of Winter Release Date
Image DailyExpress

Given that Game of Thrones concludes in 2019, we expect Martin to release his next book, The Winds of Winter sometime between late 2019 to mid-2020. This is still speculatory – but quite practical as Martin is also going to release one final book after this one, titled ‘A Dream of Spring’.

Leave a Reply